Skip navigation

So I am having problems with printing a decent image on my Epson R1800 and used their online support system. After going to great length to try and make it easy for them by explaining that I know about color management, how to do it and how to use it in work flow they send me back this response which is clearly a canned answer…


Thank you for taking the time to contact Epson.  It is my pleasure to
respond to your inquiry.  Color management is an art, make sure that only
the application or the driver is handling the management. Turn off the
management in the driver if you are allowing Photoshop or other software to
handle the color management.  Also make sure when you are allowing
Photoshop to handle the color that you select the proper printer profile.
It’s very hard to help with color management via email, you may want to
check some of the on-line color management websites on google.

Should you require further assistance with this issue, please use the
“Reply With History” option, including your previous e-mail with your new
request.  If you have a different technical support issue, please submit
another E-form via our website (http://www.epson.com), and we will respond
in a timely manner.  Thank you again for contacting Epson.

David P
EPSON Professional Graphics Support Team

Totally useless, I hate it when companies don’t even bother to read what you send them and just send back a copy and paste from page x in the support manual. I expect better when I pay a lot of money for a printer that worked perfectly until new drivers and an OS update. I will keep you posted on this and we’ll see if they actually bother to read my response telling them that I already told them all this in my original email to them.

5 Comments

  1. Hi Peter,

    I had problems (HP not epson but they all seem to offer that fantastic level of customer service!!!!) one of the guys in the office posted on this forum and the problem was sorted in no time – worth a post.
    http://www.pctechguide.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/ubb/cfrm

  2. Many thanks for the link, I will look into it also useful to know places to help ‘prompt companies into paying attention’ :). It seems right now the security fix from Apple appears to of fixed the problem (for now anyway).

  3. This blog is pretty interesting, will add a bookmark, thanks.

  4. The same problems I am having.
    For example I have had a lot of hits from searches for Epson R1800 printers on OS-X 10.5 and bad prints, also of note is a lot of hits with problems on the Western Digital My Book drives I wrote about .What can I do?

  5. I also had a trouble with Epson printer. You should hange printer for eg. HP


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] regarding the same problems I am having. For example I have had a lot of hits from searches for Epson R1800 printers on OS-X 10.5 and bad prints, also of note is a lot of hits with problems on the Western Digital My Book drives I wrote about a […]

Leave a Reply

