Skip navigation

I subscribe to the Lynda.com online training library, and believe me it’s worth every penny! But I won’t go into that in this post.

I recently watched the ActionScript 3.0:Working with XML course and it is simply fantastic for anyone wanting to discover how AS3 works with the E4X standard. The really great thing is I was looking for a way to parse the feed from this very blog into a Flash file for the long overdue new version of my Web site. This course will teach you all about the wonderfully simple new ways to work with XML in AS3, long gone are the headaches of writing a whole bunch of code just to work with the returned XML.

Topics include:-

  • Creating XML in ActionScript 3.0
  • Working with External XML Data
  • Building a Reusable RSS Reader Class (A must see, I have a thousand uses for it!)
  • Using PHP with XML Data
  • Working with Blogs
  • Working with the Flickr API
  • Working with Podcasts.

I strongly recommend this title, however I would say you need to be familiar with the basics of AS3 and Flash before attempting to use in your own scenario’s.

Lynda.com online training is the best money I ever spent on training material, it has saved me a fortune in books on the mountain of topics I have to stay up to date with, the Photoshop and Lightroom series by Chris Orwig are first class.

2 Comments

    • jim
    • Posted May 31, 2008 at 5:08 am
    • Permalink

    Lynda produces great stuff. This title is good, but not as clear as the other as3 titles, the guy talks too fast this time. He also could have covered a bit more stuff concerning xml & php. I hope they’ll produce a title that goes into depth about datadriven flash.

  1. I would actually like to see a title dedicated to PHP and XML for Flash/Flex developers who perhaps are not familiar with PHP enough to get the job done with the content in this title. That is a valid point.

    Maybe a title dedicated to web services with php/.net/rails examples would be a good idea to really cover all the major options. I’d love to be able to write myself some classes in ActionScript that I can use to switch between server side languages without recoding anything other than a class call for the model.

    Regards,
    Peter Witham


Leave a Reply

