Skip navigation

As you may of noticed by now I am a big music fan and just for fun Guitar player. Well I needed to replace my Midi keyboard and after some research and basic requirements I settled on M-Audio’s Axiom 49 . My first requirement was it had to be USB powered because I really didn’t need another power pack hanging from the wall, the 2nd was that it had to work correctly under OS-X 10.5.2 and the last being it had to work easily without hours of configuration in Logic Express 8. This keyboard suited those requirements and more.
m-audio-axiom491.jpg

I have to say after using it I am blown away by it, the keys feel good and are touch sensitive, the 8 pads on the top right are essentially tap pads and are great for tapping out a drum loop or triggering sound effects. There is also midi assignable sliders and pots, truly everything you’ll ever need in a midi controller (for many anyway I suspect). Everything can easily be assigned or ‘learned’ on Logic and you are up and running in no time. One very nice feature is the playback controls for moving around the application timeline and just hitting the record button to start laying down the track. I look forward to learning keyboard playing with this thing and as a final surprise it turned out Guitar Center has a sale on it until the end of the month reducing the price by around $30 I believe.

Check it out here

37 Comments

    • Chris
    • Posted April 29, 2008 at 9:40 am
    • Permalink

    Hey,

    So it does work with 10.5.2.? My oxygen 8 and keystation 49e are useless on this new operating system, and all I’m getting from m-audio is “sucks for you”.

  1. It works flawlessly for me under 10.5.2 with all the latest OS updates. According to the Apple forums, documentation and M-Audio web site (I researched before buying because of the very problem you describe) it is a class compliant device so it does not require any drivers for 3rd party application to run.

    So far, no problems at all. One of the major reasons I chose this one is that it did not require 3rd party driver support, as a user of M-Audio’s FireWire 410 I’ve been bitten by the driver support issue before including my old Oxygen keyboard.

    Hope this helps.
    Peter.

  2. Hey.

    I am new to producing and music. I purchased the Axiom 49 and Logic Express 8. How do I control logic from my controller. I also have 10.5.2. Thanks.

  3. It would be best to look in the help for exact details on how to configure control surfaces but it essentially goes like this…

    1. Click the control you want to map
    2. CMD+L and then move,turn,click the control on the keyboard to map to it.

    And that should be it,

    Another way is to go via the menu

    1. Click the control you want to map
    2. Logic Pro (in my case) > Preferences > Control Surfaces > Learn Assignment for

    Hope this helps get you on your way!
    Peter.

    • shahriar
    • Posted October 19, 2008 at 2:44 am
    • Permalink

    bonjour

    je voudrais le pris m-audio-axiom491

    mersi

    Shahriar Sharifpour

    • Blake
    • Posted January 16, 2009 at 6:14 pm
    • Permalink

    Just bought the keyboard…wandering how to set up the pads for triggering samples….didnt know if you could help!

  4. Well it depends on the software really. You’d have to check the documentation for the software, but on Logic I just use the learn command to assign a midi signal to which ever instrument has the sample I want to play. For example I assign the pads to midi key strokes for drum samples or to switch drum loops in Ultrabeat.

    • Blake
    • Posted January 16, 2009 at 11:44 pm
    • Permalink

    Hey Pete, I appreciate it. I’ve got a little experimenting to do, but that helps me out. I’m slowly getting there…. I’ll probably have more questions for you over time if you don’t mind. Thanks for your time and knowledge.

  5. No problem. Have fun with it, it is an excellent keyboard.

    • Ed Garner
    • Posted January 19, 2009 at 5:40 pm
    • Permalink

    How do I go about assigning sounds to the touch pads. I have the axiom 49 and use logic pro. I am a novice at this MIDI stuff.

  6. Hi Ed,

    First you will need to create an instrument with the sounds, depending on what they are you may want to consider using Ultrabeat and loading the sounds (samples?) into the instrument bay. The help file should be able to show you the best way to do that or a search on youtube will probably bring up a video demonstrating it. Then you will need to assign the location that the sound was loaded into using the Learn command in Logic’s menu (or by using CMD+L shortcut that does the same thing) and hitting the pad you want that sound patch to be played with. It actually sounds more complicated than it is, once you’ve done it once you’ll be doing it all the time without thinking about it.

    There is a great series of Podcasts that covers loading sounds into Ultrabeat and assigning midi controllers to different things in Logic at http://edgecastcdn.net/0005A0/podcasts/logic_quicktips/podcast.xml

    Hope this helps,
    Peter.

    • Lars
    • Posted April 1, 2009 at 11:47 am
    • Permalink

    Pete,
    This blog is a huge help. I bought an axiom 25 but have recently moved up to a 49 but haven’t done a lot of programming beyond transport controls but all of the “back and forth” here has been a huge help. I think it’s odd that M-Audio chose not include any logic templates in their enigma software but instead chose to include them within hyper-control on the overprices axiom pro series (for all effective purposes the exact same controller. Any thoughts?

  7. Lars,

    Thank you for the comments, I very much appreciate them. I agree with you that it is odd M-Audio does not include templates for Logic, certainly this keyboard and the software is popular enough that you would think it a given they would supply them. I have found many people using Logic and the Axiom range and have wondered why there are no official templates from M-Audio for it.

    • ricardo carrasco
    • Posted April 9, 2009 at 4:37 pm
    • Permalink

    pete. i’m really desperade, because sometimes i’m using my axiom 49 and bumm no sound on c# and g why is that help please.

  8. pretty sure there could be a lot of reasons for that, is it every g and c# key on the keyboard or just a couple of keys with hardware problems maybe.

    • ricardo carrasco
    • Posted April 23, 2009 at 2:41 pm
    • Permalink

    hi pete. it’s me ricardo . yea man it hapend in every c# and g on the keybord i don’t understand sometimes happends and other days works totally fine

  9. That is weird indeed! I’ve never come across that before, is it possible that somehow those midi notes are being interpreted or redirected as some other midi control I wonder…have you tried resetting preferences or re-installing the app?

    • David Marcus
    • Posted April 25, 2009 at 3:18 pm
    • Permalink

    Pete,

    The CMD+L shortcut would be a great thing for me to figure out. Unfortunately, it only seems to work with parameters in the mix menu (e.g. faders, pan pots, etc.) I would love to be able to click a sound (a drum in my drum sampler for instance) and be able to map that to a control on my Axiom 49. Any idea what’s keeping me from mapping certain controls or sounds?

    Thanks!

  10. You’ll need to have the instrument with the sound you want (say kick drum in ultradrum) selected and have the pad/control/key you want to play that sound mapped. So for example lets say you have a kick drum in ultrasound that is 1st octave C key then you need to ‘learn’ that to one of the pads on the axiom to play it.

    Make sense?

    • David Marcus
    • Posted April 25, 2009 at 9:02 pm
    • Permalink

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure I understand the process, but it’s not working for certain things. For instance, I can get faders in my drum sampler to “learn” to a control on the axiom, but I can’t seem to figure out how to “select” the drum sound itself so I can assign that to a pad.

  11. I see what you mean, let me check my workflow here and post back.

  12. Well interestingly my pads are set to default to the first 8 sounds on the C octave. I have found a way to do it via programming the keyboard by assigning the keyboard midi note to a specific pad.

    1. Make sure you have the instrument open (Say Ultrabeat).
    2. Hit the pad you want to make the sound you want on the keyboard.
    3. Hit ‘Data1’ key on the Axiom and then tap the pad to audition the sound assigned via the midi note.
    4. You can change the midi note assigned to the pad using the + / – keys on the Axiom, keep going till you find the sound you want on that pad.

    I am sure I’ve done this in Logic Pro rather than the keyboard before though as this makes the change universal rather than instrument specific. It could be that I did it with MainStage but I doubt it.

    See if that works for now, I’ll keep trying ideas and let you know if I find the ‘learn’ solution again.

    Peter.

  13. I might take a look at these presets for Logic as well,

    http://www.futureproducers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=237337&page=2

    • David Marcus
    • Posted April 25, 2009 at 9:55 pm
    • Permalink

    That did indeed do what I was looking for, thanks!
    Do post here if you find the ‘learn’ solution, as I’d be interested in having either method available. Thanks again.

  14. Excellent!

    No problem, you now have me wondering how the hell I did it 🙂 and I’m messing with it right now, I am still amazed that M-Audio or Apple do not ship a preset configured in/for Logic and the Axiom 49 keyboard…I’ve heard at least more than a few people have them 🙂

    • ric
    • Posted May 14, 2009 at 12:13 pm
    • Permalink

    I have a drum kit loaded into Ableton “Live”. The default lower left pad is the same as C1 on the keyboard (Axiom 49). The sound I want on that pad is C# on the keyboard. How do I reassign pads in general to develop a standardized drum kit.

    • ric
    • Posted May 19, 2009 at 8:25 am
    • Permalink

    Figured out how to assign drum notes to tap pads but am clueless as to how to make the transport work. My research shows I’m not the only one.

  15. I have a ‘sometimes it works’ and ‘sometimes it doesn’t’ relationship with the transport controls.

    • Striz
    • Posted June 7, 2009 at 9:53 pm
    • Permalink

    I bought the Axiom 61 maybe like 4 months ago. I use Logic and the thing I noticed was that you can use logics learn mode to get some thing working, transport, volume, pan, but the Axiom really lax as far as really getting any serious midi control, ie, switching fade banks, eq, stuff like that and the Enigma Editor is for the most part useless when it come to anything Logic related. At this point Im cool with the keyboard as far as playability and feel, but as Far as controlling Logic Ill more than likely be buying some sort of Mackie control, it seems like that are in sync with it. As far as the Axiom goes, if you are using Pro tools or Reason I think anyone would be a lot happier than using Logic

  16. I hear ya and agree in many ways, getting the Axiom working in a fully ‘useful’ way with Logic was a lot harder than I expected it should be. But once I did get it set-up to my needs it has been a dream, I’m just hoping I never have to do it over again from scratch.

    • Allan
    • Posted July 5, 2009 at 6:12 am
    • Permalink

    Hi peter,
    well i am doing it from scratch mate and its really getting to me lol, just the very basic function of mapping the faders on my 49 to the volume, pan ect in the mixer in logic is proving to be rather odd.. i map all 10 or 11 of them in learn mode then exit it all and they work as they were asigned for a minute or so eg. d9 for inst1 and d10 for 2 and so on then after a little not only do they control there assigned inst but they start controling another 2 or 3 inst aswell sometimes an inst completely opposite to the one it was “learned” to control? hopefully i am doing something wrong that you could pick up on quite easily and im sorry if it sounds basic but i am rather new to the whole process mate.
    cheers, Allan

    • Jason Williams
    • Posted September 15, 2009 at 5:51 am
    • Permalink

    Peter…
    Having some trouble with my Axiom49 and logic Express 8, I know how to get to the learn function through the menu but cant assign my transport or any other functions, i can only do the pots and faders…

    I need help! How can i use my Axiom49 as a controller for Logic?

  17. Hi Jason,

    For the transport controls you will have to go about doing them the long way via the menu

    Logic > Preferences > Key Commands

    Search for say ‘play’, select it and then use the learn button on the lower left and press play on the keyboard.

    Hope this helps,
    Peter.

    • Steven Reid
    • Posted November 22, 2009 at 1:04 pm
    • Permalink

    Would you have an opinion on the worth of spending the couple hundred dollars more on the Axiom Pro model in order to avoid having to manually map Logic functions?

  18. Hmmm,

    Well since I like to map controls the way I want on a keyboard in Logic I personally would save the extra dollars and upgrade to Logic 9 or use the $ elsewhere. I have no experience of a pro model but seems like a price hike to me just to map some controls. Once you get the hang of doing it by hand in Logic it’s really not that bad.

    • Steven Reid
    • Posted November 22, 2009 at 5:44 pm
    • Permalink

    Thanks man, I have Logic 9 already, it was just an attempt to justify my laziness. It’s probably for the best anyways, doing it manually, it never hurts to learn more.

  19. I’m finding things easier to set-up under Logic 9, so far I’m pretty happy with it. I am using my Axiom 49 with Mainstage 2 as the triggers for switching the pedal board on and off.


Leave a Reply

