Skip navigation

My extremely reliable iPod Touch 2.0.1 has now become a game of chance! (I have had no problems with previous releases, until now!)

Since updating it to 2.0.2 last night the following problems now occur regularly.

1. I knew I was in trouble when after installing and watching it reboot the nice green battery icon never appeared when it was in the dock. This is a random event now with a sometimes appears situation.

2. My WiFi network is a game of random chance at best, sometimes it finds it and reports the password is bad, sometimes the lock in the network settings panel disappears altogether. And sometimes I don’t even get a WiFi icon in the top left at all. And I’ve tried resetting the network connection more than a few times. And yes, everything else on my network has no problem.

So far it’s been dreadful, I am lucky at best if I manage to get the damn thing to find the network at all let alone connect or pass data thru it. Yet again another example of Apple not doing no where near enough testing before release…hell Apple, it’s only you that makes the hardware it’s not like it’s a 3rd party problem!

What’s next, a knee jerk release of 2.0.3?

32 Comments

  1. Update…

    After trying several restores (and I do mean several!). The battery icon is now behaving but WiFi still seems to have a mind of it’s own…

    • Yv
    • Posted August 21, 2008 at 3:38 am
    • Permalink

    Same for me.
    2.0.2 installed and many wifi disconnections…

    • Shawn
    • Posted August 21, 2008 at 8:04 pm
    • Permalink

    The same thing happened with me too! Every time I tap on my Wifi Network name, it says “Unable to connect to Wireless Network” when it worked successfully countless times in the past until I installed 2.0.2. I’m glad I’m not the only one having this problem, cause if I’m not alone then it has something to do with the update, and not my network. Even Natalie Del Conte from CNET TV announced there was a problem with the update on Loaded today, but her description did not include wifi problems. She said that Apple will release yet another update in September. I sure hope it’ll be sooner than this. Thank-you so much for posting this. I guess we’ll just have to wait…

  2. Maybe the release notes for the update should of said…

    “If we didn’t get you last time, we got you this time”

    🙂

    • David
    • Posted August 23, 2008 at 9:40 am
    • Permalink

    I have recovered mi ipod 3 times in two days since the last update!! every time i install something new it gets frozen and doesnt start anymore

    • Gboy
    • Posted August 23, 2008 at 8:36 pm
    • Permalink

    I would like to thank all of you for acting as point for me.
    After reading about all your troubles I have decided NOT to install this update. When you install the next update I will check the internet to see if all went well before I install it

    Thanks people

    • Greg
    • Posted August 25, 2008 at 4:38 am
    • Permalink

    Having the exact same problem – wish I had read this before installing this update… do these guys actually test this stuff before they throw it out there??

    • Sean
    • Posted August 26, 2008 at 3:19 pm
    • Permalink

    Since upgrading my ipod touch I rarely get a connection for more than a few mins. After the the wi-fi just vanishes and won’t even find the network again. I never had any problems like this before the update… here’s waiting on a bug fix!

    • dave
    • Posted August 27, 2008 at 5:22 pm
    • Permalink

    yep i to hit the x to cancel it JUST in time after reading a few articals, i can wait untill next time. hmmm i was hoping this one would fix the issue with my musis app not going back to normal from after it was on its side

    • Jan
    • Posted August 28, 2008 at 3:00 pm
    • Permalink

    Same here. Upgraded from 2.0.1 to 2.0.2 and now WiFi which used to work just fine is dead. It connects, but none of the applications can see the network. Retored two times, no improvement. Tried to look for ways to go back to 2.0.1 but haven’t found anything reasonably manageable yet.

    Will be a lot more careful with the next update. Old saying: if it ain’t broke, don’t change it.

    I usually don’t buy Apple products, but went with the iPod Touch recently for a specific reason. I used to do firmware upgrade tools for a living, so this is familiar territory. Advise to Apple: Don’t lock down your hardware or software for your consumers, unless you’re 150% on your QA score. Obviously they aren’t there. Bad customer experience, makes me even less likely to ever buy another Apple product.

    • maz
    • Posted August 29, 2008 at 8:45 pm
    • Permalink

    Do not install this bloody update! I should have figured the timeouts in downloading it was a bad sign but now I can’t sync my purchases to my ipod! So not a happy camper, after buying albums just before the update and who do I get on to for a refund for my purchases!!!!!!!
    When is this going to be fixed before I tell the world what a load of crap this is!!!!!

    • Michael
    • Posted August 29, 2008 at 11:44 pm
    • Permalink

    I started to download this update. Search Google for information on the update, just to find out what it was going to be. This is the first page i stumbled upon. I immediately canceled the download. Thanks for saving me!

    • Jake
    • Posted August 30, 2008 at 10:36 pm
    • Permalink

    The iPod Touch 2.0.2 is a failure…I have about 6 pages of apps so it triggers the “app error” which allows no apps to open or to crash after about 3 secs…we need 2.0.3

    • William
    • Posted August 31, 2008 at 3:39 pm
    • Permalink

    After this udpate Itunes doesnt reconginze my iphone anymore… it will ask me to restore it… and it will do that… (to the point of the normal iphone reboot) … but when it reboots and SHOULD be updating my music…. instead it brings me back to the “set up your iphone” … and tells me to restore it… I’ve tried hard resets, soft rests… both of the iphone and the host computer… this is now 18 hours or so of this… not happy when there is a hurricane not too far away and this is my only phone…. the last few updates were getting harder and harder to install smoothly, I should have just ignored it this time.

    • Des
    • Posted September 2, 2008 at 5:01 pm
    • Permalink

    Wow I couldn’t get the update to download so I went on the web to find out why, then I find this. I’m glad I couldn’t get it to download.

  3. I guess we only have to wait maybe a week until the Apple event, maybe they’ll announce ‘we made it stable!’ lol….yeah that’ll happen 😛

    Most probably they’ll want us to focus on the new products and forget about the old ones with problems…

    • Doug D
    • Posted September 3, 2008 at 7:09 pm
    • Permalink

    I am actually having a problem installing the update. I downloaded the update, and while itunes was installing the software it would freeze. I am not sure if this is my lack of patience, or maybe it is an ever-growing disaster which is “iPod Touch 2.0.2 update”. One thing I would like to know is how long I should wait before screaming and rebooting my computer?

  4. I would say taking into account variables like transfer rate,machine speed etc. If you start it and leave it and it has not completed by say 1 hour of starting then something is wrong.

    My standard rule of thumb on any hardware/software combination that I have worked with is to give it an hour to show some sign of progression or completion.

    • Doug D
    • Posted September 3, 2008 at 9:56 pm
    • Permalink

    Yeah, I recently started it up again, and now it’s at a stage where it says ‘Verifying iPod Software’. It’s farther than it’s gotten all day, so I guess patience is the answer to my problem. I think it’s partly my frustration from purchasing a $300 product that won’t work properly….

  5. I hear ya, one minute everything is fine then an ‘update’ and it goes to hell. Let’s hope they never make a car or medical equipment…

    • Rick Lee
    • Posted September 8, 2008 at 1:20 am
    • Permalink

    If you take off the wifi and take off your pass word to get to wifi, and reinsert the password to your wifi, the Iphone3g works again after the 2.0.2 update. Hope it helps you guys, mine work after, I redid my wifi password.

  6. Thanks for the suggestion but have already tried it, including many total system resets.

    • Doug D
    • Posted September 11, 2008 at 12:51 pm
    • Permalink

    Well, now you don’t have to complain about 2.0.2, cuz 2.1 is here! Have fun complaining about the new update!

    • Doug D
    • Posted September 11, 2008 at 12:52 pm
    • Permalink

    By the way, I had to send in my iPod touch to Apple for them to fix it, and now it works fine with 2.0.2. Now, the real question is: Should I should i not risk downloading and installing 2.1? I am going to wait a while and see what people say about it. Have fun with the iLife!

  7. 2.1 so far has been good to me, I’m going to go out on a limb and say it’s fixed all my problems!

    I think Apple learned to test at last 🙂

    • Evelyn
    • Posted September 13, 2008 at 11:44 pm
    • Permalink

    I too had problem downloading iPod update 2.1. Maybe I should wait like Doug D too. I am just too curious about it.

    • Doug D
    • Posted September 19, 2008 at 3:56 pm
    • Permalink

    I am taking a risk here and downloading 2.1. My internet connection is 10 fold faster, so maybe I will be less annoyed.

    …. It is just sitting there and saying Updating iPod Software. How long should I wait for it to finish?

  8. I would say my update took about 20 minutes to install. It did look like it was doing nothing for a while as it extracted the files etc.

    • Attikai
    • Posted December 10, 2008 at 3:53 pm
    • Permalink

    I am in the same boat.

    2.0.2 ruined my WiFi.

    When I connect with my iPod Touch first gen it takes every machine down on my network. If I turn off the iPod and cycle my router by unplugging and plugging back in the network works again as do the other WiFi devices. But if I use the iPod to access the network it kills it again. If I could just go back to 2.0.1 I would be happy.

    Why hasn’t Apple addressed this?

    Why can’t I go back to the software that worked for me?

    • MARIA
    • Posted February 7, 2009 at 1:33 am
    • Permalink

    If I already purchased(9.95) the update from apple, but ofcourse after all these reviews, I did not download on my ipod touch can i get my money back???
    Can anyone help me out with this???`

  9. Hi Maria,

    I do not know about getting your money back, but I can tell you that since the latest updates to the version 2 software my iPod has been great.

    • Lisa
    • Posted February 18, 2009 at 1:29 am
    • Permalink

    Hate to say it, but I just upgraded to 2.2.1 today and it killed my wifi — most of the time the apps don’t recognize the connection, and when they do, they stop recognizing it after a few minutes.

    Also, everytime I sync, iTunes completely wipes everything and adds the entire library from scratch, instead of simply updating any changes. Extremely frustrating as now it takes hours to sync, not minutes.

    I’ve done three or four restores tonight. Seems useless.

    I want to revert to my old software, but am not sure how; at the very least I want my money back, because I depended on my wifi heavily and am not paying to lose it! I sent Apple Support an e-mail and they are supposed to reply within 24 hours.


Leave a Reply

