Skip navigation

With all the talk around the content aware scaling (which is clever) being one of the big features in Photoshop CS4 I think many of the other things have been over looked…

I know Adobe needs the ‘wow’ feature to woo new customers and something to rav about but honestly I think that many of the long time users (I’ve used Photoshop since 2.5 I think) must surely be more WOW about being able to rotate the canvas at last, this is a HUGE feature for many like me that use a graphics tablet I’m sure. Now if I could just figure out how to use my Logitech Nulooq to rotate the canvas rather than using the icon, anyone?

And what about the new birds eye zoom….HUGE time saver and it looks neat as you use it.

Anyway, I just wanted to have my say over what I think are two of the biggest new features that don’t have much wow visually but sure do for workflow and time saving.

7 Comments

    • FLEXmanta
    • Posted December 25, 2008 at 6:31 pm
    • Permalink

    for rotating the canvas you got the R key shorcut. Just as how you use the space bar and drag the image around, with the R key you rotate it.

    I also work with a Wacom, but my left hand is most of the time resting on the keyboard that i keep on the left of my tablet. PS is all about shortcuts (sure you know that), and eventually they all become second nature. Wonder how many more my head will be able to retain…

  1. I have come to use the R key, I was originally trying to find a way to not have to run back to the keyboard as I like to use my Wacom and Logitech NuLooq together, but with the new press and hold keyboard shortcut for tools I have found that the R key is working just fine for me now.

    Using full screen mode is a great way to work in Photoshop (my preferred way) and it is well worth everyone getting to know the most used shortcuts. I will just have to get that R in my brain 🙂

    Thanks for the comments, I appreciate it.

    • Rich
    • Posted January 3, 2009 at 2:13 pm
    • Permalink

    I use a nostromo speedpad for my shortcut keys.

    http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=164714

    It sits to the left of my wacom. I love it, keeps me away from the keyboard except for typing.

    • christopher
    • Posted February 20, 2009 at 10:44 am
    • Permalink

    You wanted to know how to use your Logitech Nulooq to rotate the canvas rather than using the icon, well you can’t. Logitech Nulooq is not supported in cs4.

  2. Yup, according to Logitech

    “Logitech has discontinued production and support of the NuLOOQ line. Thus, there will be no Adobe CS4 plug-in support.”

    There is a work around that you can do by simulating the mouse it seems, this is taken from a post on the Logitech forums

    —- quote
    It’s possible to simulate pan and zoom in Photoshop CS4 using mouse wheel events. Assuming you have Photoshop set up to zoom with the scroll wheel, you can do the following mapping for your navring:

    Twist clockwise = mouse wheel up, repeat 10x per second
    Twist counter-clockwise = mouse wheel down, repeat 10x per second
    Push right = mouse wheel up, Control + Alt, repeat 10x per second
    Push left = mouse wheel down, Control + Alt, repeat 10x per second
    Push up = mouse wheel up, Alt, repeat 10x per second
    Push down = mouse wheel down, Alt, repeat 10x per second

    These mappings are for Windows but you can do something similar for the Mac. Same thing if you don’t zoom with your scroll wheel, you’d just need to change the wheel mappings to match the mode you use.
    — end quote.

    I am sad to see the end of the device, but that’s the way it is with hardware. I’m a die hard supporter of the unit and will take a look at the new Logitech controller line-up. Either way though I will still use the device for everything else….it makes a great controller for media players for example, I use my one with iTunes all the time.

    • AA
    • Posted August 31, 2009 at 6:22 am
    • Permalink

    On a MacBook you can use a two finger rotate gesture and a pinch or scroll gesture for zooming.

  3. Awesome, thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

