Skip navigation

This year I am doing something different. I am resolving to give something up.

I have many interests and hobbies as I suspect most creative types do, I have always been this way as I believe we owe it to ourselves to expand in any way we can. For me it has almost always been via visual challenges, photography, art and design with one notable exception being music, I have played guitar for many years now (I am going to guess around 20).

I am resolving to give up playing guitar this year to give myself more time and energy to focus back on my Photography and design interests, over the past few months I have found for some reason that I am struggling to keep my guitar playing at the level I have reached let alone move it further down the road. I am sure there are many reasons for this but perhaps the most obvious ones being time spent on other hobbies, work and life in general.

So in order to discover how far I can take my other interests I am willing to let go of one that has seen me through thick and thin to get to me this point. I will miss playing, the hardest part will be hearing blues licks and wanting to pick up the guitar and play along.

I do believe though that its time to focus on a couple of core interests and give them the attention they deserve whilst saying thanks and see you around to those that have become stagnant.

Should be a hard but interesting challenge.

3 Comments

    • rainnotebook
    • Posted December 12, 2008 at 9:53 am
    • Permalink

    Thats sad. But good luck!

    • jasonmarkwebber
    • Posted December 12, 2008 at 11:44 am
    • Permalink

    I’m not a big one for resolutions as such, but I try to set a few yearly goals. This year was taken up with project 365 and making the most of being a new father.

    Next year I have an idea for recording an annual report like this guy: http://www.feltron.com/index.php?/content/2007_annual_report/

    I’m also hoping to complete a marathon and at least one triathlon.

    Shame about giving up the guitar, but maybe your right not to spread yourself too thin.

    Good luck.

    Jason

  1. I eat too much chocolate. I have to cut back on it in 2009.


Leave a Reply

