Skip navigation

Todays one photo is a rant.

I am so tired of the city I live in (Hurst, Texas) putting up new buildings everywhere (the city is 96% built up according to their own statistics) yet everywhere I look in there are buildings that have sat vacant for a long time.

So here’s what I’m going to do, now and again I am going to put up pictures of some of the vacant buildings. Lord knows there are more than enough for me to choose from, and before anyone says it…most if not all of the buildings were empty long before the current economic problems. I know what the problem is, I’m sure most of the owners of the properties are waiting for the supposed rebuilding, much hyped and much delayed (as in years) redesign of the city so they can cash in.

So here is the first.

Day #86

One Comment

  1. I don’t think it unique to your area. We’ve had several things happen around my area. New business on bottom floor, condo on top floor buildings sprouted up and have stayed empty for a couple years now. Old military housing areas and buildings torn down and replacement residential or business districts infrastructures (roads, foundations and utilities) put in but when the economy sank they have been left to rot.

    Living on an old military base it’s easy to see how quickly buildings that are unoccupied will start to fall apart and become useless. It’s sad really because so many go without yet space goes unused.


Leave a Reply

