Skip navigation

I have decided to stop my One Photo a Day project, the reasons are as follows.

1. Time, life is so busy that I am finding it hard to make the time to get a shot.

2. Partly due to no.1 I find that my photos are just not very interesting. I wanted quality shots and I find most of the ones I have taken to be rather dull and mere snaps, maybe symbolic of daily life who knows.

3. Not expanding my skills, the idea behind me doing the project was to expand my creativity and learning of Photography and the shots are just not doing that for me.

4. The project is preventing me from thinking about quality rather than quantity.

I am however considering something similar that would not require a daily photograph. Honestly at this point I’d much rather produce quality images than quantity. As my daily work does not involve Photography it often has to wait till the end of the day before getting the photograph, and a lot of the time that means cutting into time with my wife and things that I need to attend too.

I am disappointed in myself to get this far and abandon the project, but if there is no benefit from doing it then I see no point to make you and I suffer from the images 🙂

This project has taught me though that my best images come from projects rather than single shots, not to say that I don’t really like some of my single shots but they do feel more hit or miss.

Stay tuned though, my passion for photography has not changed just my approach to getting the kind of images I want to produce. In fact with Spring and summer kicking in I expect there to be plenty of images flowing through my fingers!

7 Comments

    • mitzs
    • Posted March 22, 2009 at 2:27 pm
    • Permalink

    Hi Pete,
    I am sorry it didn’t work out the way you wanted to but your right. If time is restricted for this project then you aren’t improving your skills. I hope we still get a pic of Kit Kat at least once a week. I have started to get attach to the little bugger and his antics. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you shoot next though. I just never know what to expect with you or RW. But it has always been a nice surprise!

  1. Thanks mitzs!

    I have a lot of ideas for projects that I want to undertake and I still have my desire to create a photo book this year. So I will be working towards those still, and believe me I have plenty of photographs still around me, the 24hr clock was getting to be pressure rather than pleasure. And don’t worry kitty is never too far from the spotlight around here hehe!

    My passion and fun with photography remains the same as ever, if not more! Spring and Summer are upon us and the flowers are starting to show their colors!

    • Elizabeth Gower
    • Posted March 22, 2009 at 3:40 pm
    • Permalink

    Sorry to hear your stopping your project, but I do understand your reasons. Well, except for the one about being dull. I love all your photos (as I’m sure others do) and I find them very interesting, (so cross that reason off your list.) I am looking forward to your future photos.

  2. Thanks Elizabeth,

    It seems I have no choice but to continue, I have been getting tweets and msg’s of support and more than a few that say they started the project because they saw my photos and decided to give it a try. When you get messages like that you realize you owe it to others and yourself to see it through. I have a post retracting this one here

    I still say the kitty dull though hehe!…shhhh don’t tell him I said that.

    • mitzs
    • Posted March 22, 2009 at 4:45 pm
    • Permalink

    Oh Kit Kat, don’t let daddy get away with that. Bite that big toe! And E I agree with you, I’ve not seen anything dull yet either. But Pete if you think they are, then you need to dig deeper when you have the time to spare only though.

    • Pat W.
    • Posted March 22, 2009 at 10:36 pm
    • Permalink

    I’m a little late getting to the rebellion, but count me in among the fans who were outraged over the untimely demise of Photo of the Day. I’m so glad you aren’t abandoning us.

    No stress! We can compromise. I can see how having to come up with a photo every single day could take the fun out of the project, but why not Tues-Thurs or M W F or better yet…. “Photo of the Day’s I Feel Like Doing It”.

    You’ve been doing some nice work. I’m happy we’ll get to see more of it.

  3. Well I was also concerned you would send Don D after me 🙂


Leave a Reply

